Home Alone

As ridiculous as this may sound, there are three things I have consistent nightmares of:

*My husband or children dying

*Tornadoes

*Vampires

Yes, I do have nightmares about vampires. I’m not positive, but when I was little my daddy would watch the old black and white movies that would play when he got off second shift and children should have been in bed. I would always hear him come in the front door and then I would crawl out of my bed with blanket and bear in tow and scrooch up next to him in his chair to watch a movie with him. Most nights we would share a snack before I’d fall asleep next to him. Eventually he would carry my blanket, my bear, and me, back to my room and tuck me back in my bed with all of my stuffed animals all around my head and shoulders.

Sometimes those movies were the old black and white vampire movies and I think they must’ve stuck in my brain because I have some doozy nightmares of them sometimes, still to this day!

I think all mothers at one time or another have nightmares of their family members and, especially their children, dying and it’s usually very tragic. Having nightmares about tornadoes, pretty much my entire life, I had one where all of my children were killed in a tornado. Two birds in one nightmare, you might say.

Currently we are experiencing a tornado watch in our area until 10:00 pm tonight. It’s only 6:30 and I’m by myself. Harrison is helping at a local rescue mission with his church and Bruce is with his mom, as he is every Thursday night. So for the first part of this scary storm, I sat in the hallway texting my children to make sure they knew to stay put and be safe.

As I sat there I felt it was kind of ridiculous to work myself up into a frenzy. Was I afraid to die or just afraid to die alone?

And then the Lord brought to mind my daddy’s life verse that I adopted as my own when he passed to Heaven, “Fear thou not, for I am with thee…” Isaiah 41:10.

I wasn’t alone. I have my Savior! I have the Holy Spirit! I have God!

Fear can be crippling for the mind. But once you realize the Lord God of Heaven and earth and the One Who controls the winds and the rains and, yes, the tornadoes, is in charge, there’s an odd and strange peace that settles over the soul.

Here I am, in this moment, with the winds howling and the rains beating, at peace with the Lord and still in this storm.

Spiritual storms have the same affect if you know the Savior. Do you know Him? Or better yet, does He know you? Him knowing you is what will make all the difference in the world and in the world to come.

If you haven’t trusted Him, now is a good time to seek His face and pray.

An F3 tornado sets down in a field.

Leave a comment