You Didn’t Notice

School wrapped up a couple weeks ago and I am now working for a mission board for the summer. I miss seeing the children at school but enjoy the little break. While I’m working at the mission board, the Pastor and a couple of the men at the church where I teach are putting up my classroom walls and have finished the new gymnasium. I am over the moon excited about this upcoming year.

I’m only working part time this summer, which is a blessing. It gives me a longer weekend that helps me keep up with laundry and needed cleaning. I love that.

I was off the other day and I got up early doing just that… laundry and cleaning. I washed our bed linens, caught up on Mount Washmore, and took my time cleaning and getting ready for church that night.

Bruce came home, walked through the Pine Sol and Lemon Lysol scented house, put his things away, walked through the house and began to get ready to step into the shower before he said, “What did you do today?” Now, the thoughts that went through my head were not to get upset with him. He just had a long day at work and while I took my time under no pressure, he was under pressure to get things done by a specific time. PLUS I had three hours extra sleep than he did. So I simply replied, “Nothin’. Just laundry and cleaning.” Which as I thought about it, I suppose if he didn’t notice then maybe the house wasn’t as bad as I thought it was.

We decided to eat supper at Zaxby’s that night. If you’ve never had their Cobb Zalad, what are you waiting for? Anyway, we sat down and prayed and then I said, “You hurt my feelings.” He kind of laughed because he could tell I was kind of kidding. I told him it was because I had done laundry and cleaned all day and he didn’t notice. Then we both started laughing as he tried to convince me that he did, in fact, notice and everything looked so great and he couldn’t wait to crawl in bed on clean sheets and pillows.

The very next day I enjoyed some time with my friend for breakfast and coffee, stopped to see the progress on the school, and ran an errand before my hair appointment for a color, cut, and curl. When Bruce got home I was in the kitchen doing a few dishes and as he walked through the door I could hear him declare, “I’m home! I’m walking through the door. Ohhhhhh, it looks so clean and smells so good in the house!” I came around the corner, kissed him hello and smiled. He kept going on about how clean the house was all the while looking straight at me. The more he bragged on the house, the funnier it because that he wasn’t noticing my hair, which sent me into hysterical laughter. He thought I was laughing at him being silly. I was. But it was the combination of the two that made it so funny. He was laughing right along with me and that was just the icing on the proverbial cake for me.

Finally I stepped back still laughing and he said, “What are you laughing at, really?” And I said, “That you keep going on about the house you didn’t notice yesterday and you haven’t noticed my hair today.” And then we both laughed hard.

It’s great to find someone you can laugh with and thankfully we have laughed a lot in our thirty-three years.

Leave a comment